Andrea Goldsmith

Arthur LeGrand Doty Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Science
Office Phone
C230 Engineering Quadrangle
  • Ph.D., University of California-Berkeley, 1994
  • M.S., University of California-Berkeley, 1991
  • B.S., University of California-Berkeley, 1986

Andrea Goldsmith is the Dean of Engineering and Applied Science and the Arthur LeGrand Doty Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Princeton University. She was previously the Stephen Harris Professor of Engineering and Professor of Electrical Engineering at Stanford University, where she is now Harris Professor Emerita.

Her research interests are in information theory, communication theory, and signal processing, and their application to wireless communications, interconnected systems, and neuroscience. She founded and served as Chief Technical Officer of Plume WiFi (formerly Accelera, Inc.) and of Quantenna (QTNA), Inc, and she currently serves on the Board of Directors for Medtronic (MDT) and Crown Castle Inc (CCI). Dr. Goldsmith is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a Fellow of the IEEE and of Stanford, and has received several awards for her work, including the IEEE Sumner Technical Field Award, the ACM Athena Lecturer Award, the ComSoc Armstrong Technical Achievement Award, the Kirchmayer Graduate Teaching Award, the WICE Mentoring Award, and the Silicon Valley/San Jose Business Journal’s Women of Influence Award.

She is author of the book "Wireless Communications'' and co-author of the books "MIMO Wireless Communications'' and “Principles of Cognitive Radio,” all published by Cambridge University Press, as well as an inventor on 29 patents. She received the B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering from U.C. Berkeley.

Dr. Goldsmith is currently the founding Chair of the IEEE Board of Directors Committee on Diversity, Inclusion, and Ethics. She served as President of the IEEE Information Theory Society in 2009, as founding Chair of its Student Committee, and as founding Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Journal on Selected Areas of Information Theory. She has also served on the Board of Governors for both the IEEE Information Theory and Communications Societies.  At Stanford she served as Chair of Stanford’s Faculty Senate and for multiple terms as a Senator, and on its Academic Council Advisory Board, Budget Group, Committee on Research, Planning and Policy Board, Commissions on Graduate and on Undergraduate Education, Faculty Women’s Forum Steering Committee, and Task Force on Women and Leadership.

Wireless Systems Lab

Wireless technology has enormous potential to change the way people and things communicate. Future wireless networks will allow people on the move to communicate with anyone, anywhere, and at any time using a range of high-performance multimedia services. Wireless video will support applications such as enhanced social networking, distance learning and remote medicine. Wireless sensor networks can also enable a new class of intelligent home electronics, smart and energy-efficient buildings and highways, and in-body networks for analysis and treatment of medical conditions.

Fortunately for us researchers, there are many technical challenges that must be met in order to make this vision a reality. These challenges transcend all levels of the overall system design, including hardware, communication link design, wireless networking, distributed sensing, communication, and control, and cross-layer design. In addition, synergies between the hardware, link, and network designs must be exploited in order to meet the demanding performance requirements of these future systems.


Selected Publications
  1. A.J. Goldsmith, S.A. Jafar, I. Maric, S. Srinivasa. "Breaking spectrum gridlock with cognitive radios: An information theoretic perspective," Proceedings of the IEEE 97 (5), 894-914, 2009.
  2. Andrea Goldsmith. Wireless Communications, Cambridge University Press, 2005.
  3. A.J. Goldsmith, S.A. Jafar, N. Jindal, S. Vishwanath. "Capacity limits of MIMO channels," IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications 21 (5), 684-702, 2003.
  4. A.J. Goldsmith, P.P. Varaiya. "Capacity of fading channels with channel side information," IEEE Transactions on Information Theory 43 (6), 1986-1992, 1997.
  5. A.J. Goldsmith, S.G. Chua. "Variable-rate variable-power MQAM for fading channels," IEEE Transactions on Communications, 45 (10), 1218-1230, 1997.

Google Scholar Profile

Honors & Awards

  • Marconi Prize – 2020
  • Qualcomm Faculty Award – 2019
  • IEEE Eric E. Sumner Technical Field Award in Communications Technology – 2019
  • IEEE Communication Theory Technical Committee Distinguished Service Award – 2019
  • D.Sc. Honoris Causa, University of Edinburgh – 2018
  • IEEE Information Theory Society Aaron D. Wyner Distinguished Service Award – 2018
  • ACM Athena Lecturer Award – 2018
  • IEEE iCon Award for Outstanding Achievement in Conference Innovation – 2018
  • American Academy of Arts and Sciences – 2017
  • National Academy of Engineering – 2017
  • IEEE Communications Society Women in Communications Engineering Mentoring Award – 2017
  • Thomson-Reuters/Clarivate Highly Cited Researcher (top 1%) – 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017
  • IEEE Communications Society Edwin H. Armstrong Technical Achievement Award –2014
  • IEEE Communications Society Women in Communications Engineering Achievement Award – 2014
  • Technical Achievement Award in Communication Theory: IEEE Communications Society – 2013
  • Stephen Harris Endowed Chair in Stanford’s School of Engineering – 2012
  • Interdigital Innovation Award – 2012
  • Silicon Valley Business Journal Women of Influence Award – 2010.
  • IEEE Information Theory Society Distinguished Lecturer – 2010-2011
  • Technical Achievement Award in Wireless Communications: IEEE Communications Society – 2009
  • Tsinghua Distinguished Chair Professorship – 2009-2011
  • IEEE Communications Society Distinguished Lecturer – 2007-2008
  • Stanford Postdoc Mentoring Award – 2008
  • UCSD Shannon Memorial Lecture – 2007
  • Stanford Fellow – 2005
  • IEEE Fellow – 2005
  • Stanford School of Engineering Bredt Faculty Development Scholar – 2003
  • National Academy of Engineering Gilbreth Lectureship – 2002
  • Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship – 2001
  • Stanford Terman Fellowship – 1999
  • Okawa Foundation Award – 1999
  • The Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Award 1999
  • National Semiconductor Faculty Development Award – 1996, 1997
  • The National Science Foundation CAREER Development Award – 1995
  • IBM Fellow – 1992-1993
  • David Griep Memorial Prize for Excellence in Academic Achievement – 1991
Research Areas
Biological & Biomedical
Computing & Networking
Data & Information Science
Robotics & Cyberphysical Systems