Yan Huo *94 Fellowship powers advances in machine learning, wireless communication and quantum technology
Dec. 22, 2022

Three fourth-year graduate students in electrical and computer engineering — Emir Ali Karahan, Mehmet Tuna Uysal and Chong Xiang — received the annual Yan Huo *94 Graduate Fellowship, supporting their work in wireless communication, quantum technology and machine learning.

Robot trucks drive students to solve real problems in modern robotics
Nov. 22, 2022

In spring 2022, Jaime Fernández Fisac, assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering, offered a new hands-on course on the fundamentals of modern robotics (ECE 346). The students' journey was not easy, but the rewards were plenty. And in the end they walked away with the essential tools for a career working in and around…

Jennifer Rexford, department alum and celebrated leader in computing, named Princeton’s next provost
Nov. 21, 2022

Jennifer Rexford, the Gordon Y.S. Wu Professor in Engineering, professor and department chair in computer science, and a 1991 electrical engineering alumna, has been named Princeton’s provost. Her appointment will take effect on March 13.

New hands-on approach brings this wireless-systems course within reach
Nov. 21, 2022

A newly revamped undergraduate course, ECE 368, will peel back the curtain on digital communications and wireless systems that enable our ubiquitous mobile technologies.

Insights into energy loss open doors for up-and-coming solar tech
Nov. 18, 2022

Organic solar cells are an emerging technology with a lot of promise. Unlike the ubiquitous silicon solar panel, they have the potential to be lightweight, flexible, and present a variety of colors, making them particularly attractive for urban or façade applications. However, continued advancements in device performance have been sluggish as researchers work to understand the fundamental processes underlying how organic solar cells operate.

Laser spectroscopy expert Gerard Wysocki elected Optical Society Fellow
Nov. 14, 2022

Founded in 1916 as the Optical Society of America, Optica has since grown to include more than 20,000 members across dozens of countries. The society’s board of directors elected 109 Fellows for the 2023 class.

Graduate alumnus Robert Kahn, founder of the internet, awarded Madison Medal
Nov. 7, 2022

Kahn, who earned a Ph.D. in electrical engineering in 1964, will receive the James Madison Medal. Established by the Association of Princeton Graduate Alumni (APGA), is named for the fourth president of the United States, who is considered to be…

Solid-state expert Nathalie de Leon has won the APS quantum computing award
Oct. 7, 2022

The 2023 Rolf Landauer and Charles H. Bennett Award in Quantum Computing recognizes de Leon’s contributions to experimental quantum information science, especially in “materials discovery and enhancement.” The citation emphasized her work turning fundamental discoveries in solid-state physics into technologies for quantum computing, sensing and networking.

Qualcomm awards grad students for innovative framework to compiler design
Oct. 3, 2022

The fellowship program recognizes innovative Ph.D. students across a broad range of technical research areas. Li and Zeng were one of 19 teams selected. Their one-year fellowship includes $50,000 each in financial support as well as…

Thompson wins New Horizons Prize in Physics for neutral-atom quantum computing
Sept. 22, 2022

By isolating and controlling individual atoms, Thompson, an associate professor of electrical and computer engineering, and his colleagues developed a new system for processing information in a quantum computer. Based on neutral ytterbium atoms, the system is especially…

Andrea Goldsmith elected to the Royal Academy of Engineering
Sept. 21, 2022

Wireless communications pioneer Andrea Goldsmith, dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Science, has been named an international fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, the United Kingdom’s national academy of engineering.

Thompson and Valavi honored for teaching excellence, highlighting success of the pandemic-era Car Lab course
Sept. 20, 2022

Jeff Thompson and Hossein Valavi have received the 2022 Walter Curtis Johnson Prize for Teaching Excellence, recognizing their exemplary work in undergraduate education.