Sturm named to National Academy of Inventors

Written by
Office of Communications
Dec. 6, 2019

The National Academy of Inventors has named Princeton's James Sturm among 168 fellows for 2019.

Sturm, the Stephen R. Forrest Professor of Electrical Engineering, focuses on applications of nanotechnology to biology and medicine, and on materials and devices for microelectronics and for large-area electronics, such as solar cells and flexible infrastructure sensors. Sturm, a member of Princeton’s Class of 1979, served as director of the former Center for Photonic and Opto-Electronic Materials (POEM) and founding director of the Princeton Institute for the Science and Technology of Materials (PRISM). He was interim dean of the School of Engineering and Applied Science in 2002 and is a fellow of the IEEE, the professional society of electrical engineers. He is the recipient of numerous teaching awards, including the President’s Award for Distinguished Teaching from Princeton.

The National Academy of Inventors is made up of member organizations representing universities, and government and nonprofit research institutions. Academy fellows are nominated by their peers for work that has benefited society.

“It is a privilege to welcome these exceptionally-qualified individuals to this prestigious organization. I am certain their accomplishments will inspire the next generation of invention pioneers,” said Laura Peter, Deputy Under Secretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property and Deputy Director at the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office, in the academy’s announcement.

The inventors will be inducted at the academy’s annual meeting on April 10, 2020, in Phoenix.