Rising to the occasion, graduate students offer leadership in difficult year

Written by
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Sept. 7, 2021

The ECE faculty recognized outstanding graduate student leadership, in the classroom and in service to the community, at the Department's annual welcome breakfast on Friday, September 3.

Four graduate students, nominated by faculty, were honored for their assistantship in instruction (AI), in courses that ranged from graduate level quantum engineering to undergraduate logic design.

Three graduate students, nominated by both faculty and peers, were honored for their committment to service in committee roles, in creating a more welcoming and inclusive environment, and in developing virtual recruitment materials.

Yue Xing, a fifth-year student, won the Richard C. Hough Teaching Award, the top honor for an AI, highlighting his excellence during the Fall 2020 term as the head AI for the Department's largest course, Contemporary Logic Design. His work also helped earned the course a commendation from the School of Engineering and Applied Science and a special selection for successful pandemic-era instruction by the McGraw Center for Teaching and Learning.

A complete list of award winners is below.

AI Award

Sayeri Lala

Pranav Thekke Madathil

Lila Rodgers

Yue Xing, the Richard C. Hough Award

Award for Excellence in Service

Anjali Premkumar

Hooman Saeidi

Michael Soskind